Pituitary Gland & Hormones

Hi. My name is Pituitary. I am known as the “master gland”, as I produce numerous hormones that travel throughout the body. I encourage other glands to secrete hormones as well. I like to work in harmony and support the theme of this series #hormonesforharmony.

The hormones that I secrete basically affect the following organs/glands.

  • Thyroid
  • Reproductive Organs
  • Adrenal glands

I am a tiny pea-sized gland present at the base of the brain. I am attached to my buddy, the Hypothalamus with a stalk-like structure. I have two distinct parts: the anterior and posterior lobes.

Pituitary 1

The anterior lobe is made up of different types of cells that help me to secrete different types of hormones. Let me first tell you what those hormones are:

  1. Growth Hormone – It regulates body growth and physical development, primarily bones and muscles.
  2. Thyroid-Stimulating Hormone – It stimulates the thyroid gland to secrete the thyroid hormones, which is important for metabolism
  3. Adrenocorticotropic Hormone – It stimulates the adrenal gland to produce cortisol and other hormones
  4. Follicle-Stimulating Hormone – It stimulates the secretion of Oestrogen and growth of egg cells in women. It is important for sperm cell production in men.
  5. Leutinizing Hormone – It produces Oestrogen in women and testosterone in men.
  6. Prolactin – It helps breastfeeding mothers to produce milk
  7. Endorphins – It has the capacity to relief you off the pain. More like a pain-killer.
  8. Enkephalins – Their function is similar to that of endorphins
  9. Beta-Melanocyte-Stimulating Hormone – Stimulates skin pigmentation in response to UV radiation.

Now you see why I am called as the Master Gland!!! Well, I am not done yet.

My other part which is the posterior lobe also produces two hormones namely:

  1. Vasopressin – It is also known as the antidiuretic hormone. It helps to conserve water in the body preventing dehydration.
  2. Oxytocin – It stimulates the release of breast milk and also helps the uterus to contract during labor.

Just like the rest of my buddies, I too am of great importance to the body. You need to take measures to keep me happy and healthy so that I can function well and keep you fit.

  • Eat a balanced and healthy diet which includes fruits and vegetables
  • Include nutrient supplements like vitamins, minerals, and omega-3 fatty acids
  • Consume whole grains for more fiber
  • Avoid refined sugars
  • Drink lots of water
  • Exercise regularly, to avoid weight gain, insomnia, anxiety, and depression

If you following a healthy diet and a healthy lifestyle, then I will function absolutely fine. However, if you or any of your loved ones are experiencing any of the below symptoms, visit a doctor and get me treated soon.

  • Headache
  • Weakness
  • High Blood Pressure
  • Trouble Sleeping
  • Sudden Weight Gain
  • Mood Swings or Depression
  • Memory Loss
  • Irregular periods or infertility
  • Unusual hair growth

These symptoms could be due to the presence of tumor in or around me which does not allow me to function well. Medication or surgery can cure the underlying problem and make me and you healthy again.